To the Ex I don’t hate,,

As I sit down to write this letter, my first thoughts are – I hope you’re doing well. I hope you’re happy in your life. I mean it. I do.

It’s been four years since the break-up, eh? It’s been a ride of a lifetime. If I look back in time, I can remember all the things we did together and to each other.

From that phase of ‘babu-shona’, we’ve come a long way. I’m an engineer now. And you’re in a different part of the world, doing what you’ve always wanted to do or what was meant for you.

I could start our story from the day when we first met in school , in class 10. We were 16. Young and foolishly in love. We believed that you and I are going to be each other’s happy ending, that we will be together forever.

You know, people make plans. They see a life – a house, two kids, a lovely wife, and a happily-ever-after. And then, before you can get that life with your first love, life happens.

It’s been four years since we broke up. I remember the first two years where I resented you. The two years I spent being miserable – drowning in alcohol and everything harmful. No one knows of it, but now the world will.

The past two years have been better. I have grown up. I don’t see love as a fundamental feeling, but as an emotion that puts you in a happier state. It took me time, but I got there.

I’m sure the heartbreak was just terrible for you, too. I empathise with you. I understand all my shortcomings in that relationship, and I hope, you saw yours, too.

I’m romantically interested in a woman now. Like genuinely interested. And I want to see if it can work out.

On some days, I’m very happy. On some, I feel okay. All I want to say to you is that you were a wonderful friend. You taught me how to love after breaking my heart. I may have had my reasons to despise you, but almost after four years, I’ve recovered. So I know, the heartbreak isn’t a forever. Just like love isn’t.

Take care.

With love,
The boy you once loved.

Leave a comment